What should I eat?

The Australian Dietary Guidelines assist Australians to make healthy food choices and to eat adequate nutrients for good health and wellbeing. There are five core food groups that provide the important nutrients the body needs:

  1. Bread, cereals, rice, pasta, noodles
  2. Vegetables, legumes
  3. Fruit
  4. Milk, yoghurt, cheese
  5. Meat, fish, poultry, eggs, nuts, legumes

Extra foods, such as fried foods, chocolate and other sweets, are other foods that may be eaten sometimes or in small amounts.

See the Guide below.


The Federal Department of Health and Ageing (DOHA) has provided the following recommendations for a healthy diet:

  • Eat enough food from each of the five food groups every day
  • Choose different varieties of foods from within each of the five food groups from day to day, week to week and at different times of the year
  • Eat plenty of plant foods (bread, cereal, rice, pasta, noodles, vegetables, legumes and fruit); moderate amounts of animal foods (mild, yoghurt, cheese, meat, fish, poultry, eggs) in the proportions shown by the guide; and small amounts of the extra foods, and margarines and oils
  • Drink plenty of water

The DOHA also recommends that adults eat two serves of fruit and five serves of vegetables every day.






Live Lighter

LiveLighter (LL)  is a program developed in Western Australia which aims to encourage Australian adults to lead healthier lifestyles – to make changes to what they eat and drink, and to be more active. LL want to help people understand why they need to take action and what simple changes they can make in order to ‘LiveLighter’. Listed below are a number of useful factsheets published by LL around healthy eating and drinking:

For more healthy eating tips see useful links for healthy eating.

Comments are closed.